Single-Sexy-Sweet, Meka

Yes, that is a Mya reference. I attended Duke University, loved her music (still do), and graduated in 2003. Which makes me a “generation-Y” adult or we are also referred to as the “Millennial” generation. A lot of people are questioning who I am but the fact of the matter is “the only constant in life is change.” This has been a constant theme in my life despite the fact that it is an oxymoron. Most people don’t realize nor need to know how much I have been through. But in modern American society we crave a fast, paced knowledgeable world similar to Europe but different in an American sense.

I call myself blasian because of my African-American and Asian-American Heritage. My fathers (biological and real/step) are both proud and dignified black men striving to let go of their anger and clawing their way to the top of Life’s success ladder. And, sometimes, it angers me to watch them struggle. Because when they struggle, our entire family struggles. American women of all races and ethnicities are so beautifully and phenomenally strong. I am proud of my Mother (I simply call her Mom) and Grandmothers (Mama and Maw Maw). Even more intriguing my Mom is Filipina-born but American raised because she is the youngest in her family. So you should understand that I understand the plight of both Black Americans and Asian immigrants. I have been educated at a prestigious university. I’ve traveled to Asia and Europe. However, I have not yet been to Africa. And, I would love to travel the world.

So when people call me racist, as they have lately, it angers me. It angers me because I am a very diverse and objective, yet, strong Blasian Woman. I have feelings. I feel happy and sad, love and hate, and tried and true. I have overcome many things. So I agree with Mr. Bill Cosby when he says, “Come on, People.” Everyone experiences bondage of some form but we must remember “Yes, We Can.”; “We Shall Overcome [Adversity].”; and “This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.” no matter who or how many judgments are placed upon me. I know me better than anyone. I am my strength and I am my weakness. At the end of the day I only want to be me – the strong, independent, sassy Blasian woman who knows how to define herself.


Always be true to yourself!

"to thine ownself be true" Shakespeare

TeMeka Wms

The Earlybird gets the Worm

Leave a Reply

