Share from LinkedIn: These are 25 Great Quotes

Dave Kerpen
CEO, Likeable Local, NY Times Best-Selling Author & Keynote Speaker

25 Quotes to Inspire You to Become a Better Leader

March 18, 2013

Great quotes inspire us to change, to grow, and to become our best selves. I researched thousands of quotes from successful leaders for my last book, to capture one for each chapter, covering 11 simple concepts to become a better leader. My recent LinkedIn post explaining the 11 concepts became the 2nd most read article in LinkedIn history (at 1.3 million views!) So, I’m sharing my favorite quotes here- those which inspired me enough that I published them in the book, along with the runners up. Here are my 25 favorite likeable leadership quotes. I hope they inspire you as much as they have inspired me:

Listening

1) “When people talk, listen completely. Most people never listen.” – Ernest Hemingway

2) “The most basic of all human needs is the need to understand and be understood. The best way to understand people is to listen to them.” – Ralph Nichols

Storytelling

3) “Storytelling is the most powerful way to put ideas into the world today.” -Robert McKee

4) “If you tell me, it’s an essay. If you show me, it’s a story.” —Barbara Greene

Authenticity

5) “I had no idea that being your authentic self could make me as rich as I’ve become. If I had, I’d have done it a lot earlier.” -Oprah Winfrey

6) “Authenticity is the alignment of head, mouth, heart, and feet – thinking, saying, feeling, and doing the same thing – consistently. This builds trust, and followers love leaders they can trust.” -Lance Secretan

Transparency

7) “As a small businessperson, you have no greater leverage than the truth.” -John Whittier

8) “There is no persuasiveness more effectual than the transparency of a single heart, of a sincere life.” -Joseph Berber Lightfoot

Team Playing

9) “Individuals play the game, but teams beat the odds.” -SEAL Team Saying

10) “Alone we can do so little; together we can do so much.” – Helen Keller

Responsiveness

11) “Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it.” -Charles Swindoll

12) ‘”Your most unhappy customers are your greatest source of learning.” – Bill Gates

Adaptability

13) “When you’re finished changing, you’re finished.” -Ben Franklin

14) “It is not the strongest of the species that survive, nor the most intelligent, but the one most responsive to change.” –Charles Darwin

Passion

15) “The only way to do great work is to love the work you do.” -Steve Jobs

16) “I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.” -Albert Einstein

Surprise and Delight

17) “A true leader always keeps an element of surprise up his sleeve, which others cannot grasp but which keeps his public excited and breathless.” -Charles de Gaulle

18) “Surprise is the greatest gift which life can grant us.” – Boris Pasternak

Simplicity

19) “Less isn’t more; just enough is more.” -Milton Glaser

20) “Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.” -Leonardo daVinci

Gratefulness

21) “I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought, and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder.” -Gilbert K Chesterton

22) “The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude.” -Friedrich Nietzsche

Leadership

23) “Management is doing things right; leadership is doing the right things.” — Peter F. Drucker

24) “If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.” —John Quincy Adams

25) “Leadership and learning are indispensable to each other.” —John F. Kennedy

Those are my favorite leadership quotes. Now it’s your turn. Which of these quotes speak most to you? What are your favorite leadership quotes? And which qualities make you a likeable leader? Let me know in the comments below- and here’s to all of us becoming better leaders!

—–

Dave Kerpen is the leader of two companies, as CEO of Likeable Local and Chairman of Likeable Media. He is also the New York Times bestselling author of two books, Likeable Social Media and Likeable Business.

Unlike (1,209)  Comment (317) Share
Posted by:Dave Kerpen
Following  (71,043)See all Dave’s posts
  Comment

TeMeka C. Williams-Belton
8) “There is no persuasiveness more effectual than the transparency of a single heart, of a sincere life.” -Joseph Berber Lightfoot. Resonates the most with where I am at in my business philosophy. A driving quote in my own life is: “Change is the only constant. ” Still, I lov…
just now

Rob P.
Don’t normally buy into what is essentially management consultant common sense but, hey, most of this seems to make good common sense
3m

Susan O.
“Alone we can do so little; Together we can do so much.” This is such a true statement for work and family. My work team has just achieved a major task – we definitely could not have done it without being a real team.
11m

Boyana B.
Incredible quotes! Thanks a lot!
13m

mia K.
I like AUTHENTIC LEADERS ! the ones who think, say, feel, and do the same thing – consistently. I hope I meet a leader one day who think, say, feel and do the same thing CONSISTENTLY.
14m

Emmanuel Uzo A.
Fantastic Dave.
15m

Sagar S.P. S.
the author nailed the point.
16m

Michael G.
LISTENING = Learning!
16m

Jessie M.
good summary!
16m

Vanessa K.
Love it. Thanks for sharing.
18m

Michael G.
13, 14, 15 Awesome! Thank you.
18m

Joanna G.
Love this article, my whole business is about people being their best self through their personal image and impact! It’s when they will feel most confident and do their best.
27m

Greg T.
“Individuals play the game, but teams beat the odds.” -SEAL Team Saying
33m

Marwan Y.
My favorite is” Management is doing things right. Leadership is doing the right thing” Thank you for doing the right thing by distributing this around.
44m

Sokleak H.
#12 & 15 from Bill gate & Steve Job
1h

Sneha G.
Brilliant
1h

Luis N.
Obrigado Sandra Muito inspirador.
1h

Cherry P.
Surprising no being aggressive,no being professional but transparency and authenticity.I can’t agree more!
1h

Solomon A.
Thanks for sharing us these wonderful quotes! I especially like “I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought, and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder.” -Gilbert K Chesterton
1h

Lambo Z.
Thank you for sharing.
1h

Luis N.
Obrigado Sandra Muito inspirador.
1h

Cherry P.
Surprising no being aggressive,no being professional but transparency and authenticity.I can’t agree more!
1h

Solomon A.
Thanks for sharing us these wonderful quotes! I especially like “I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought, and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder.” -Gilbert K Chesterton
1h

Lambo Z.
Thank you for sharing.
1h

Maricris F.
Super Like! My favorite “I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.” -Albert Einstein
1h

Nicholas H.
Winston Churchill said “To improve is to change, to be perfect is to change often” this is what I stand by as we should always be willing to learn and better ourselves through change!
1h

Glenda P.
Wow, thanks Dave… You will never work a day in your life if you love what you doing..
1h

Leah B.
I had my favorite quote tattooed on my back years ago and every day I live by it – Ghandi – “Be the change you want to see in the world.”
1h

Chinenye M.
Hey Dave, This’ fantastic. Bravo! I’m especially in love with, 15) “The only way to do great work is to love the work you do.” -Steve Jobs and 22) “The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude.” -Friedrich Nietzsche. From my personal experience, I’ve learned that, gratitude and genuine personal interest, among other amazing qualities, have endeared me to my inferiors. To be sure, it’s only natural and human to feel appreciated. Just saying ‘Thank you’ for an act – however little- can be very encouraging. And how pleasant and good it is also to, once in a while, spend a little time with these ones, ask them how they’re getting on in life, commend them for their good looks, or things like that.
1h

David M.
The only way to do great work is to love the work you do. And love the challenges to. 😉 Thanks for sharing
1h

Taseer H.
Management is doing things right; leadership is doing the right things.” — Peter F. Drucker…. a big fan of Drucker….
1h

Carla R.
Thanks for sharing Dave. A favorite of mine is, “Decide what you love, what excites and inspires, then make that your purpose and watch what transpires.”
2h

Manali S.
Inspiring Quotes, Dave…Thank you!!!!!!!!
2h

Stephen J.
Great quotes to live and learn by… In addition to yours I love Henry Fords “Whether you think you can or you think you can’t, you’re right” Its says a lot for mindset accomplishment
2h

Hongbo Y.
Agree to certain extent
2h

Abdelkrim L.
Inspiring quotes, thanks for sharing! I reckon it would be more interesting, especially for young leaders, if u explain each quote by giving EXEMPLEs 🙂 I enjoy reading such thing …
2h

Brett L.
What a terrific investment reading and reflecting these 25 quotes in 25 minutes For me the following shine brightest 6) “Authenticity is the alignment of head, mouth, heart, and feet – thinking, saying, feeling, and doing the same thing – consistently. This builds trust, and followers love leaders they can trust.” -Lance Secretan 20) “Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.” -Leonardo daVinci 24) “If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.” —John Quincy Adams Thank you Dave
2h

Leo L.
I like this one: >>>24) “If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.” —John Quincy Adams
2h

Asha M.
I also keep coming back to read the “Surprise and Delight” aspect 🙂 The Leaders I look upto have this “Powerful” element about themselves…The ability to Delight and leave the team refreshed in thoughts and approach
2h
SHOW MORE
Dave’s Recent Posts

The Tech-Free Secret to Business Success
March 14, 2013

The Most Important Phrase You’ll Ever Say in a Meeting
March 11, 2013

11 Must-Read Authors For Every Professional
March 7, 2013
See all Dave’s posts
More Influencers to Follow

Follow
Jacques Attali
Président chez Attali et Associés
For how much longer will this last ?
“Everything shows that we are moving towards a paroxysm of imbalances, and noretraction force seems…”
March 12, 2013

Follow
Chris Seper
Digital media entrepreneur and founder, CEO of MedCity Media (publisher of MedCityNews.com)
Bring your kids to work (and take them on the…
“You start a company out of passion for your craft. But parents also think the new business is the…”
February 26, 2013

Follow
Joseph Ansanelli
Entrepreneur and Partner at Greylock
People First.
“As an entrepreneur and now a Partner at Greylock, I have a top 10 list of what makes a company…”
February 28, 2013

Follow
Cynthia Montgomery
Timken Professor of Business Administration at Harvard Business School
The Thought Leader Interview: Cynthia Montgomery
“A Harvard Business School professor observes that leaders become better strategists by engaging in…”
February 26, 2013

Follow
Andreas von der Heydt
Country Manager Amazon BuyVIP, Founder ConsumerGoodsClub.com
As CEO I’m accountable – Respect to Groupon’s…
“Groupon’s founder Andrew Mason was dismissed as its CEO yesterday. The day after the company…”
March 2, 2013
See more

Leave a Reply

