Books, books, and more books

The fact is I love reading.  I love reading so much that when I read fiction from any genre depending on the total number of pages I finish reading the entire book in one day maybe two if it’s extraordinarily long.  When it is non-fiction, I find myself taking a bit longer to read the books.  
Welcome-To-ENM-1500_500
However, I have feeling that will not be the case with “Exist No More” by fellow Royal TKO Motivational Speaker Mr. Detavio Samuels once I finally open up my digital copy.   Detavio, you have yet again reminded me that with all the excitement I have and share with many other of our fellow Duke alumni for your latest creation and lasting contribution to the Personal Development genre that there is still so much knowledge to be shared.  My readers should know that Detavio served as a mentor to me in many ways while I attended Duke University and continues to be a source of entrepreneurial inspiration.  In fact, I will never forget showing him my first resume and feeling some chagrin because mine paled in comparison to his largely because I failed to properly showcase my own strengths accomplishments.  To Detavio’s credit, he never made me feel any additional embarrassment because he simply focused on helping me to improve.  With his help and the help of Duke’s Career Center I drastically improved my resume and strive to continue doing that to this very day.  And while I digress from my original focus, let me say that this little anecdote should let you know I have high expectations for his book and am very likely to attempt a lengthy book review at a later time on this blog. 

Please let me also state that my intent for this particular blogpost about books was also in light of last year at about this time I admitted that I would like to write a book one day.   This forthcoming book promises to have depth simply based on several of the life lessons I have faced and are clearly intriguing to some of my blog readers.  Based on my 2013 WordPress Annual Report: “Some of your most popular posts were written before 2013. Your writing has staying power! Consider writing about those topics again.”  Now, is that not a great endorsement for me to go ahead and write more about some of those tough topics I raised way back when.  LOL.  For anyone who has had time to read my blog over the past few years, you should know I have shared some very personal stories that some people in my life have described as my equivalent of “a perfect storm.”  By Merriam-Webster’s definition, “perfect storm” means:  a critical or disastrous situation created by a powerful concurrence of factors.  Feel free to review any of my earlier blogposts to see if you actually agree with that description based on the looking glass those articles provide.  Still, I recognize that writing more about those topics is going to be a process that in itself may reveal even more insight about myself that will challenge me.  However, I hope that those challenges will be more welcome because they will be faced with better preparation and a lot more hindsight.

So, with that being said, please know I have many books on my minds.  The ones I read for enjoyment, the ones I read for growth, and the ones I plan to write.  Below are a list of a few of my favorites in no particular order.  And, I would love for you to share any reading suggestions you may have for me as well. 

1. World Without End by Richard Follet

2. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

3. The Four Agreements by Miguel Ruiz

4. The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman

5. 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership by John C. Maxwell

6. Midnight by Sista Souljah

7. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

 

Leave a Reply

