Saturday night working…

Today I enjoyed a full day of quality time with my daughter which she sorely needed after weeks of transition for her.  She sleeps soundly and I work to the best of my ability to meet this week’s obligations.

Still I take this moment to reflect on a poem shared with me during yet another transition time which forced me away from my daughter as I coped with my abusive husband and the result of his damage.

Enjoy this poem written by Rainer Maria Rilke

You, Darkness

You, darkness, that I come from

I love you more than all the fires

that fence in the world,

for the fire makes a circle of light for everyone.

and then no one outside learns of you.

But the darkness pulls in everything,

Shapes and fires, animals, and myself,

how easily it gathers them! –

powers and people-

and it is possible a great presence is moving near me.

I have faith in nights.

One thought on “Saturday night working…

  1. Pingback: Gedanken | QUERBEET

Leave a Reply

